This Step On the Path: #Love Wins

Must Read! The Testimony of an amazing and inspiring radical Queer Woman of Color.
#LoveWins

YaliniDream

#LoveWins

Ylini & Jendog in woodsMy journey from Catholic Sunday school teacher to unapologetically Queer has taught me not to run away from my sorrows or fears, but rather experience them and follow them to my deeper unrealized desires.  I am asking the broader Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) movement and it’s supporters to do something similar:  listen to our communities’ heartaches, love ourselves through painful realities, understand our fears, and follow these sorrows to deeper unrealized desires and aspirations.

I went through my teens in a socially conservative Catholic Sri Lankan Tamil immigrant family in 1980’s & 90’s Texas.  The pressure to get married to a man is a stress I have endured starting as early as 10 years old.  By the time I was 12, I was clear it was not what I wanted for my life.  Though I wanted the dignity and acceptance that I thought came from being…

View original post 2,378 more words

Leave a Reply

