A Response to Privilege: Your White Maleness as the Basis of Privilege

Bluestockings Magazine

Screenshot 2014-05-04 18.25.19

Dear Mr. Fortang,

I am writing you today because of your column that was posted in the Princeton Tory titled, “Checking My Privilege: Character as the Basis of Privilege.” Your article has drawn a lot of attention across the internet, and I am sure that it has sparked quite a bit of discussion at Princeton. I am an American. I appreciate every person’s right to freedom of speech, and I believe that your article sparks much needed conversation. However, I do not believe that much of what you had to say was constructive, helpful or correct.

Before I go into the reasons why I believe your article is incorrect and misguided, I would like to tell you about myself. I am a cisgender, straight, white male from Tulsa, Oklahoma. I, too, am Jewish. My great-grandfather on my mother’s side escaped the Russian Revolution of 1917, when the Tsarist government…

View original post 1,565 more words

Leave a Reply

